Confessions of a Coffee Addict

Confession #1: I like my coffee black–I need a strong wake up call in the morning.

Confession #2: I’m addicted to coffee–I know it’s bad, but if I don’t have coffee by 10:30 a.m., I get a raging headache for the rest of the day and caffeinated tea doesn’t quite do the job.

Confession #3: I miss the local coffee shops at home–there’s something about knowing the owner and having personal relationships with the employees that just makes the coffee taste better. That’s something I’ve never felt at a chain like Starbucks.

7

Confession #4: I’m a little bit of a coffee snob–yep, I know the structural difference between a latte and a cappuccino and a macchiato (and I can taste the difference too).

Confession #5: I worked at a coffee shop for two years–I was already in love with coffee before this job but there’s nothing like being paid to experiment with and drink something you love.

Confession #6: I use a french press to make coffee in my dorm–it’s a little more work, but I swear it tastes better this way!

French-Press-coffeemaker.jpg

Confession #7: I usually get a cup of coffee everyday before work–gotta get through that afternoon slump somehow.

Confession #8: I cheated on the SNAP challenge today…with coffee from 8:15…

I recognize that people eating solely off SNAP benefits don’t get to cheat when they really need a coffee fix. They have to work what they have and live without such luxuries. My “medium drip” cost me $2.33 (bringing my spending total to $25.66 for the week). However, I pretty much quit coffee cold turkey when I started the SNAP challenge, and today I just snapped…I NEEDED coffee…

Leave a Reply

