Breakfast in Bed

Yesterday was the last day of my week-long SNAP challenge and it also happened to be Big/Little reveal! My Delta Gamma family’s tradition is to drop off breakfast for the newest member of our family. This morning, my Big made cinnamon pancakes with apple slices for my Little and she was wonderful enough to make some for me. I have been incredibly lucky this past week with the number of people who have offered to buy or make me food. I’m proud to say that I didn’t take many people up on their offers because I wanted to get as close to the real experience as possible but I couldn’t resist pancakes yesterday morning. The apples were the first fruit I’ve had all week and they were delicious! I didn’t realize how much I had missed eating fresh food. I also realized how little I actually do, even though it’s available to me everyday in the dining hall. Other than my daily grapefruit with breakfast, I generally don’t consume as much fresh foods as I should. So my resolve at the end of this challenge is to eat more fruits and veggies.

1511566_859955717391783_859890810703723972_n

So I’ll be honest–I ended my SNAP challenge a little bit early. After Big/Little reveal last night, we took the newest member of our family to Original Mexican Restaurant, on Horsepen Rd. I had made the decision earlier in the week that I was going to end the challenge a little bit earlier. I do realize that people living on SNAP benefits don’t have the luxury of just deciding they’re going to go out to dinner or that they’re not going to be on SNAP anymore. This is their reality that they must live in everyday. Doing this challenge, opened my eyes to how millions of people in the US live everyday. I’m not going to pretend that I know exactly what its like–there’s a difference doing the SNAP challenge in an environment where I can eat outside of it if need be and relying solely on SNAP to feed oneself and their family. But I do think this challenge has given me the ability to better emphasize and better understand some of the challenges associated with hunger.

Leave a Reply

